Department of Physics was established in 1984. The Department offers B.Sc. General course in physics (PHSG) with part-I,part-II, and part –III and CBCS system as per the University of Calcutta norm.



Dr. Abdul Khaleque, M.Sc. Ph.D. (Assistant Professor)

Mr. Soumya Saha, M.Sc. (Assistant Professor)

Mr. Masud Karim Sarkar (SACT)


The department has well equipped laboratory for non-electronics, electronics, optics, electrical and heat related practicals.The department also has a dark room for light related practical.


Departmental Library:

The department has a departmental library contains 44 books on mathematical physics, electronics, mechanics, current electricity, practical physics and modern physics.


Computer facilities:

The department has computers, printers;   pen drive, internet, and it share a smart room for power point presentation.


Other activities:

  • Students from department of physics participated in various events including, sports, model exhibition, quiz competition of Bongiyo Bigyan Utsav which was held at Chandannagore College on 17-18 February, 2015.
  • One day educational tour at science city Kolkata was held on 13th march, 2015